My Elusive dreams

As a little kid you’re subjected to your parents taste in music at least that’s how it used to be. Today you see six and seven year old kids with ear buds listening to their own music. Anyway, many of us spent a good part of our youth listening to our parents music. Some of that stays with you but you develop your own taste in music with time. Some of their songs maybe had a catchy rhythm or the lyrics stuck with you to retain it in your memory. A song for me that

Seagull in San Francisco
Seagull in San Francisco

had both was My elusive dreams by Tammy Wynette and David Houston (As it notes in the video the scenery was for Carefree Highway-sign is in Phoenix) . For me it represented life’s journey for a family and what I might expect when I grew up. Well, I have dreams that have been elusive such as getting the book published.

I’ve never been very big on Country music since the day I found my own music but this one was and still has special memories. Tammy Wynette was in her 1950’s to 60’s classic form as a housewife as she was in Stand by your Man in this one. She also redid the song with George Jones and many others remade the song but this is the original I remember.

From the time we could form our own thoughts we had dreams and then schemes. Some of us had more schemes than dreams, but how many dreams did any of us hold on to? How many came to fruition? Dreams are what brought about a lot of great things that we take for granted today. For example our modern day computer was really a dream until Steve Jobs and Bill Gates brought us this gift. If it wasn’t for those early science fiction dreamers we may not have hundreds of the things we use everyday and take for granted. Many call us dreamers (holding on to an elusive vision) but we know there’s always a chance our dreams will come true. Don’t stop believing and don’t stop dreaming even if it’s California Dreaming.

<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/elusive/”>Elusive</a&gt;

2 thoughts on “My Elusive dreams

  1. I agree. There are some tunes I heard with my parents as a child that are still stuck in my head. I hear them and feel this rush of nostalgia. They bring back such fond memories 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

